In Stock

In Stock: 1

Cover Type: Softcover
Book Condition: Fine
Jacket Condition: None Issued
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publisher Place: Oxford
Publisher Year: 1997
Edition: Reprint

Description: 158 pages. Book appears to have hardly been read and is in Fine condition throughout.

Publishers Description: It has taken Bruckners music a long while to win international recognition, but his symphonies and sacred choral works have now found a place in the repertory of orchestras and choirs throughout the world. Published to commemorate the centenary of Bruckners death, this second edition bringsup-to-date Derek Watsons acclaimed study of the composer and his music in light of the developments in Bruckner research over the last twenty years.The early chapters of Derek Watsons book contain a vivid account of Bruckners struggles and achievements both in his personal life and in his creative career. The later chapters cover each of his works in detail, from the mighty span of the mature symphonies to the smallest of his undeservedlyneglected motets. The characteristic features of his art and his strikingly individual conception of mass and symphony are discussed and set alongside the works of his contemporaries.

ISBN: 9780198166177


More From This Category