The Hell Series. (4 Volume Set)

Woods Laurie

In Stock

In Stock: 1

Cover Type: Softcover
Book Condition: As New
Jacket Condition: None Issued
Publisher: Boolarong Press
Publisher Place: Brisbane
Publisher Year: 2014
Edition: Reprint

Description: Book appears to have hardly been read and is in As new condition throughout. Each Book Is Signed By Author

Publishers Description: Finally a collection of Laurie Wood's books in one package. 1. Flying into the Mouth of Hell The story of Royal Australian Air Force service culminating in a tour of operations against the enemy, whilst an aircrew member on the Australian Lancaster 460 squadron immediately following the invasion of Europe by the allied forces. Dedicated to the aircrew of Bomber Command, and to all those who did not return. 2. Halfway to Hell The content of this book are based on personal interviews, personal service stories among my mates, members of the Royal Australian Air Force, and with historic records of airmen who were mainly trained in the Empire Air Training scheme. The scheme was set up to keep up a supply of trained aircrew to replace the immense numbers who were giving their lives. 3. To Hell and Back To Hell and Back is the story of some of the other Australian airmen who flew with Bomber Command. Laurie Woods either knew these men personally or had heard of them during the campaign. These stories have been verified by conversations with the men or their relatives and in some cases historical records. 4. Back from Hell The adrenaline that pumps through the veins of men flying Lancaster bombers over Germany while ack-ack explodes around them is only matched by the gut-wrenching nervousness in their stomach. "Will I be the next statistic?" Shortly after the war the memories keep flooding back through nightmares that are distorted from the reality but even more frightening.

ISBN: 9781925046755


Book appears to have hardly been read and is in As new condition throughout. Each Book Is Signed By Author

Explore other books from this author!

Add more book(s) to your order and receive Discounted and Free postage!

More From This Category