The Mightiest Magpies. The Story Of Every Collingwood Premiership Season 1896-2010

Roberts Michael

In Stock

In Stock: 1

Cover Type: Hardcover
Book Condition: As New
Jacket Condition: As New
Publisher: Michael Joseph/Penquin
Publisher Place: Camberwell
Publisher Year: 2011
Edition: First Edition

Description: 333 pages. Book and Jacket appear to have hardly been read and are both in As new condition throughout.

Publishers Description: Its 1902 and Collingwood introduces short-passing tactics that revolutionise the game. Its 1917 and the Magpies rally to keep the VFL competition alive, providing welcome distraction from the war. Its 1930 and the Pies with their fourth premiership in a row. Its 1958 and Phone Kyne is urging his players to bleed for him, to protect that record. Its 2010 and the supporters start chanting, possessed with black-and-white belief. While each premiership season is unique, each bears the Collingwood stamp in some way. From 1896s delivery on a promise of Progress and the Premiership to 2010s Side by Side victory, the importance of team effort, fighting to the end and solid leadership on and off the field emerge to define the character of the men who have pulled on the black-and-white, and the club. Whether its a behind victory, a triumph of the underdog, and the brilliance of a well-drilled and talented team, the journey to each flag is recreated in this great tale of sustained success.

ISBN: 9781921518775


Explore other books from this author!

Add more book(s) to your order and receive Discounted and Free postage!

More From This Category