The Secret World Of Connie Starr

Neal Robbi

$21.80
In Stock


In Stock: 1


Cover Type: Softcover
Book Condition: Fine
Jacket Condition: None Issued
Publisher: HQ Fiction
Publisher Place: Australia
Publisher Year: 2022
Edition: First Edition

Description: 438 pages. Book appears to have hardly been read and is in Fine condition throughout.

Publishers Description: A stunning evocation of Australian life through the war to the 1950s, this novel is intimate and sweeping, immediate and dreamlike - a magical rendering of darkness and joy, and the beauty inherent in difference. For readers of Sarah Winmans Still Life, Trent Daltons All Our Shimmering Skies and Rosalie Hams The Dressmaker. Connie Starr was always a difficult child. Her mother knew as soon as Connie entered the world that day in Ballarat in 1934 and opened her lungs to scream, there was more chaos in the world than before and it wouldnt leave until Connie did. From the safety of a branch high in her lemon tree where she speaks to angels, she sees the world for what it is - a swirling mass of beauty and darkness, of trauma and family, of love and war and truth and lies - lies that might just undo her and drive her to a desperate act. This ambitious, complex and insightful novel intertwines numerous stories of lives from before World War II and beyond, recreating with intimacy and breadth a world that is now lost to us. This book is a brightly coloured patchwork quilt of everything from shoes to polio, lemon trees to rivers, death to life that melds into one beautiful, luminous work of art.

ISBN: 9781867207825

(206876)


More From This Category